Cyber Valley Research Groups

As core elements of Cyber Valley, initially five Max Planck Research Groups, funded by the core partners, will be established at the Max Planck Institute. Five further Groups will follow at a later point in time. Furthermore, in the first phase, four additional Groups, financed by endowment funds, will be set up at the universities.

The independent Research Groups that are being created in Cyber Valley will focus on the research fields of machine learning, computer vision and robotics. As, in keeping with the principles of the Max Planck Society, the Leaders of these Groups are chosen for their scientific excellence and bring with them their own research topics, the specific research direction of the groups has not yet been established.

However, Junior Research Group Leaders are not only sought in the area of machine learning and autonomous robotics but also in other fields of artificial intelligence. Another topic could be based on the way in which robots interact safely with people and still manage to perform a task reliably.

In addition, robotic perception is set to become a research topic in Cyber Valley: computer vision is the keyword here. The human sense of sight is still superior to computers, for example when it involves identifying objects in poor lighting conditions. This is not the only area in which computers will need to improve if they are to drive us autonomously some day, they will also need to learn to maintain a perspective in complex traffic situations. Such robots, which could one day help us as flexible household helps or even care assistants, must be able to analyze reliably the pixel data in their camera eyes.

In addition to mobility, household and care, medicine could also be an important area of application for robots. There will be demand in particular for microbots and nanorobots, which transport pharmaceutical substances specifically to the seat of disease in the human body, take samples there or even perform operations. However, research and development must make some progress before this can be achieved. Researchers in Cyber Valley will therefore also focus on robotics for medical applications.

The newly created Cyber Valley groups will be accommodated at the two Max Planck Institute locations and at the universities before moving into their own new research premises on a permanent basis.

Rsg1
Rsg2
Rsg3

Cyber Valley Forschungsgruppen

Als Kernelemente des Cyber Valley werden zunächst fünf durch die Kernpartner finanzierte Cyber Valley Forschungsgruppen am Max-Planck-Institut etabliert, später sollen weitere fünf hinzukommen. Außerdem werden bereits in der ersten Phase vier weitere durch Stiftungsmittel finanzierte Gruppen an den Universitäten eingerichtet

Die unabhängigen Cyber Valley Forschungsgruppen werden in den Bereichen Maschinelles Lernen, Robotik und Computer Vision forschen. Da deren Leiter getreu den Prinzipien der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft jedoch nach ihrer wissenschaftlichen Exzellenz ausgewählt werden und ihr eigenes Forschungsthema mitbringen, steht die konkrete Forschungsrichtung der Gruppen derzeit noch nicht fest.

Die Nachwuchsgruppenleiter werden allerdings nicht nur auf dem Gebiet des maschinellen Lernens und der autonomen Robotik gesucht, sondern auch in anderen Feldern der Künstlichen Intelligenz. Wie Roboter sicher mit Menschen interagieren und eine Aufgabe trotzdem zuverlässig erledigen, könnte dabei ein weiteres Thema sein.

Zudem soll die Wahrnehmung von Robotern zum Gegenstand der Forschung im Cyber Valley werden, Computer Vision ist hier das Stichwort. Noch ist der menschliche Sehsinn Computern überlegen, etwa wenn es darum geht, Objekte unter schwierigen Lichtverhältnissen zu identifizieren. Nicht nur in dieser Hinsicht müssen Computer noch besser werden, um uns eines Tages autonom chauffieren zu können. Sie müssen zudem lernen, in unübersichtlichen Verkehrssituationen den Durchblick zu behalten. Aber auch Roboter, die uns einmal als flexible Haushalts- oder gar Pflegehelfer zur Seite stehen könnten, müssen die Pixeldaten ihrer Kameraaugen zuverlässig analysieren.

Neben der Mobilität, dem Haushalt und der Pflege könnte nicht zuletzt die Medizin zu einem wichtigen Einsatzgebiet für Roboter werden. Gefragt sind hier vor allem Mikro- und Nanoroboter, die pharmazeutische Wirkstoffe gezielt zu Krankheitsherden im menschlichen Körper bringen, dort Proben nehmen oder sogar operieren. Auf dem Weg dorthin müssen Forschung und Entwicklung jedoch noch einige Fortschritte erzielen. Daher werden sich Forscher im Cyber Valley auch der Robotik für medizinische Anwendungen widmen.

Zunächst werden die neu geschaffenen Gruppen des Cyber Valleys an den beiden Standorten des Max-Planck-Instituts sowie an den Universitäten untergebracht, ehe sie langfristig neue Forschungsräumlichkeiten beziehen werden.

Rsg1
Rsg2
Rsg3