International Max Planck Research School

The International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Intelligent Systems will start in Summer 2017. This new graduate school program will admit 100 PhD students in the next years.

The International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems (IMPRS-IS) brings together the MPI for Intelligent Systems with the nearby universities of Tübingen and Stuttgart to form a highly visible and unique graduate school of internationally recognized faculty, working at the leading edge of the field. The target group of IMPRS-IS will be the best and most promising students in the world.

Intelligent systems operate autonomously in, and adapt to, complex, changing environments. While biological intelligent systems (including humans) have developed sophisticated abilities through interaction, evolution and learning in order to act successfully in our world, our understanding of these phenomena is still limited. The synthesis of intelligent, autonomous, learning systems remains a major scientific challenge.

The goal of the International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems will be to investigate and understand the organizing principles of artificially intelligent systems that can successfully interact with complex environments. The IMPRS-IS will deal with fundamental problems of intelligence: perception, action and learning. The IMPRS-IS will train a new generation of young academics and engineers, within a highly multi-disciplinary environment, enabling them to tackle the fundamental challenge of intelligent systems.

The IMPRS-IS combines for the first time within one graduate school leading researchers from mechanical engineering, control theory, computer science, cognitive science, neuroscience, mathematics, and materials science in the field of intelligent systems. The research and the training will have a high potential for practical applications including in robotics, autonomous vehicles, and medical devices to name a few.

Website: http://imprs.is.mpg.de

Contact: imprs@is.mpg.de

Imprs4
Imprs1
Imprs2
Imprs3

International Max Planck Research School

Im Sommer 2017 wird die neue International Max Planck Research School (IMPRS) for Intelligent Systems starten, in der in den kommenden Jahren 100 Doktoranden ausgebildet werden.

Die International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems (IMPRS-IS) bringt das Max-Planck-Institut für Intelligente Systeme mit den benachbarten Universitäten Stuttgart und Tübingen zusammen. Mit der IMPRS-IS entsteht eine einzigartige Graduiertenschule, in der Studierende von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, die an der internationalem Spitze ihres Forschungsfelds stehen, betreut werden. Die Zielgruppe der IMPRS-IS werden herausragende Studentinnen und Studenten weltweit sein.

Intelligente Systeme agieren autonom in komplexen und dynamischen Umgebungen, und können sich an diese anpassen. Biologische intelligente Systeme (wie der Mensch) haben hochentwickelte Fähigkeiten entwickelt, um sich mittels Interaktion, Evolution und Lernen erfolgreich in unserer Welt zu behaupten. Doch diese Prinzipien sind heute immer noch kaum verstanden, und die Erschaffung künstlicher intelligenter, autonomer und lernender Systeme stellt eine der größten wissenschaftlichen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit dar.

Das Ziel der International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems ist die Untersuchung und das Verständnis der Prinzipien künstlicher intelligenter Systeme, die in komplexen Umgebungen agieren und interagieren. Im Zentrum der Graduiertenschule IMPRS-IS steht das grundlegende Prinzip Künstlicher Intelligenz: Wahrnehmen, Lernen, und Handeln. In der IMPRS-IS wird in einem hochgradig interdisziplinären Umfeld eine neue Generation junger Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure ausgebildet, welche die nötigen Werkzeuge und Kenntnisse haben werden, um die grundlegende Herausforderung Intelligenter Systeme anzugehen.

Die International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems bringt erstmals weltweit führende Forscherinnen und Forscher aus den Ingenieurwissenschaften, Computerwissenschaften, Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften, der Mathematik und den Materialwissenschaften in einem einzigartigen Graduiertenprogramm auf dem Gebiet der Intelligenten Systeme zusammen. Die Forschung und die Ausbildung wird dabei ein hohes Potenzial für Anwendungen entfalten, beispielsweise in den Bereichen der Robotik, autonomer Fahrzeuge oder der Medizintechnik, um nur einige zu nennen.

Website: http://imprs.is.mpg.de

Kontakt: imprs@is.mpg.de

Imprs4
Imprs1
Imprs2
Imprs3