International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems starts

11. August 2017

The International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems starts with 31 Ph.D. students in the fall 2017 for a new training program.

In autumn 2017, 31 PhD Students will be joining the International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems (IMPRS-IS) as part of the Cyber Valley initiative. A new generation of young academics and engineers will start their careers at the IMPRS-IS. They will receive a comprehensive training program, conduct independent research and advance the field of intelligent systems.

The training of young academics in the field of artificial intelligence and intelligent systems is the goal of the new International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems, conducted by the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems and the Universities of Stuttgart and Tübingen. This new program, will start with 31 new Ph.D. students in the fall of 2017. Out of a total of 362 applicants, 46 students from 13 different countries were invited for a symposium at the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems for talks and interviews about their research interests and academic future. Each applicant had the opportunity to meet with faculty members and advisors and get to know the institute and their researchers as well as faculty from the Universities of Stuttgart and Tübingen.

The IMPRS-IS will provide a very diverse environment for the new students. Students come from 11 different countries, and from research fields ranging from physics, mathematics, and computer science to robotics and machine learning.

To connect the students in a field that ranges from computer science to control theory, from mechanical engineering to neuroscience, and from mathematics to materials science, IMPRS-IS offers a core training program that will provide insights into all relevant areas of intelligent systems. The program consists of a wide variety of scientific seminars, advanced training workshops, and social activities that will further advance them academically and personally.

imprs-is

The International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems is a new interdisciplinary Ph.D. program offered by the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent for Intelligent Systems, the University of Stuttgart, and the University of Tübingen.

Students in the IMPRS-IS contribute to world-leading research in areas such as machine learning, computer vision, robotic motion control, micro- and nano-robotics, and haptics. This new doctoral program will enroll about 100 Ph.D. students between 2017 and 2023.

This program is a key element of Baden-Württemberg’s Cyber Valley initiative to accelerate basic research and commercial development in artificial intelligence.

Cyber Valley

Cyber Valley is a new center for AI research, bringing together partners from science and industry to boost intelligent systems research and development. In Europe’s central region Stuttgart and Tübingen, Germany, Cyber Valley will establish new research groups and professorships in the fields of machine learning, robotics, and computer vision, as well as the International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems. Cyber Valley will create an ecosystem for technology transfer and will offer the ideal environments for startups in the field of Artificial Intelligence.

Start für die 'International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems'

11. August 2017

Mit der „International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems“ beginnt im Herbst 2017 ein neues Graduiertenprogramm für 31 neue Doktoranden

Im Herbst 2017 werden im Rahmen der Cyber Valley-Initiative 31 Doktoranden der „International Max Planck Research School for Intelligent Systems“ (IMPRS-IS) mit ihrer Promotion beginnen. Eine neue Generation von Nachwuchskräften und Ingenieuren wird ihre Karriere am Max-Planck-Institut für Intelligente Systeme, der Universität Stuttgart und der Universität Tübingen starten. Sie erhalten ein umfassendes Trainingsprogramm, führen unabhängige Forschung durch und werden zur Weiterentwicklung des Forschungsbereichs der intelligenten Systeme beitragen.

In der IMPRS-IS wollen das Max-Planck-Institut für Intelligente Systeme und die Universitäten Stuttgart und Tübingen in einem gemeinsamen Programm Nachwuchskräfte auf dem Gebiet der künstlichen Intelligenz und der Intelligenten Systeme ausbilden.

Die 31 Doktoranden, die im Herbst 2017 ihre Promotion beginnen werden, wurden in einem mehrstufigen Verfahren aus insgesamt 362 Bewerbern ausgewählt. Die 48 besten Bewerber wurden zu einem Symposium am Max-Planck-Institut für intelligente Systeme eingeladen, wo sie in Forschungsvorträgen und Interviews über ihre Forschungsinteressen und ihre akademische Zukunft sprachen. Jeder Bewerber hatte dabei auch die Gelegenheit, sich mit Dozenten und Betreuern zu treffen und die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des Instituts und der Universitäten Stuttgart und Tübingen kennenzulernen. Von den 31 erfolgreichen Bewerbern nahmen alle das Angebot an, an der IMPRS-IS zu promovieren. Die IMPRS-IS wird für die neuen Studenten ein internationales und thematisch vielfältiges Umfeld bieten: Die Studierenden kommen aus 11 verschiedenen Ländern und aus Forschungsfeldern von Physik, Mathematik und Informatik bis hin zu Robotik und Maschinellem Lernen.

Die IMPRS-IS bietet ein Ausbildungsprogramm an, das Einblicke in alle bedeutenden Bereiche intelligenter Systeme liefert und von der Informatik bis zur Steuerungstheorie, vom Maschinenbau bis zur Neurowissenschaften und von der Mathematik bis zur Materialwissenschaft reicht. Das Programm besteht aus einer Vielzahl von wissenschaftlichen Seminaren, Weiterbildungsworkshops und sozialen Aktivitäten, die sie akademisch und persönlich weiter vorantreiben werden.

imprs-is

Die Internationale Max-Planck-Forschungsschule für intelligente Systeme ist eine neue interdisziplinäre Ph.D. Programm des Max-Planck-Instituts für Intelligente für intelligente Systeme, der Universität Stuttgart und der Universität Tübingen.

Die Studierenden des IMPRS-IS tragen zu weltweit führenden Forschungen in Bereichen wie Maschinenlernen, Computer Vision, Roboter-Motion Control, Mikro- und Nano-Robotik und Haptik bei. Dieses neue Doktorandenprogramm wird über 100 Ph.D. Studenten zwischen 2017 und 2023.

Dieses Programm ist ein Schlüsselelement der Cyber Valley-Initiative Baden-Württembergs zur Beschleunigung der Grundlagenforschung und der kommerziellen Entwicklung in der künstlichen Intelligenz.

Cyber Valley

Cyber Valley ist ein neues Zentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz, in dem Partner aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft intelligente Systeme erforschen und entwickeln. Im Cyber Valley entstehen in der Region Stuttgart-Tübingen im Herzen Europas neue Forschungsgruppen und Lehrstühle auf den Gebieten Maschinelles Lernen, Robotik und Computer Vision sowie die International Max Planck Research School für Intelligente Systeme. Cyber Valley wird ein Ökosystem für den Technologietransfer schaffen und bietet durch enge Verzahnung von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft die ideale Umgebung für Startups im Bereich der Künstlichen Intelligenz.