A scalable machine leaning approach to improving human decision making

cyvy Research Project

As technological development accelerates, millions of low-skilled workers are destined to lose their jobs to automation. To mitigate the resulting societal problems, this project aims to develop a scientific and technological foundation for rapidly and inexpensively teaching people the skills they will need to stay or become employable in the workplace of the future, which will be increasingly cognitively demanding.

Building on computational models of human learning and decision-making, Falk Lieder’s group proposes a general and scalable approach that leverages machine learning and artificial intelligence to teach workers the strategies they will need to meet the self-management challenges of the knowledge economy.

 

The researchers will test this approach by developing a series of intelligent tutors that develop and teach optimal decision strategies for increasingly realistic scenarios. They will illustrate the potential of this approach by developing and evaluating a simulation-based intelligent tutor that teaches high-level employees, freelancers, entrepreneurs, and academics far-sighted strategies for planning their projects, prioritizing their tasks, and managing themselves more effectively.

A scalable machine leaning approach to improving human decision making

cyvy Research Project

Mit zunehmender Technologisierung und Automatisierung werden Millionen von Arbeitsplätzen sich dramatisch verändern oder gar ganz wegfallen. Dieses Projekt versucht eine wissenschaftlich fundierte Lösung zu finden um die daraus resultierenden gesellschaftlichen Probleme abzumildern. Intelligente Trainingsprogramme sollen den Arbeitnehmer*innen schnell und kostengünstig die notwendigen Fähigkeiten vermitteln, um in der veränderten Arbeitswelt der Zukunft zurechtzukommen.

 

Unser allgemeiner und vielseitig verwendbarer Ansatz baut auf Computermodellen des menschlichen Lernens und der Entscheidungsfindung auf. Er nutzt maschinelles Lernen und künstliche Intelligenz, um den betroffenen Arbeitnehmer*innen die Strategien beizubringen, die sie brauchen um den Selbstmanagement-Herausforderungen der sich ändernden Arbeitsbedingungen zu begegnen.

 

Wir werden diesen Ansatz testen, indem wir eine Reihe von sogenannten „intelligenten Tutoren“ (Computerprogramme) entwickeln, welche optimale Entscheidungsstrategien für immer realistischere Szenarien entdecken und vermitteln. Das Potenzial dieses Ansatzes werden wir veranschaulichen, indem wir einen Tutor entwickeln, der die Zeitmanagement-Fähigkeiten einer bestimmten Berufsgruppe (z.B. Wissenschaftler) in einer simulierten Arbeitsumgebung trainiert. Im Idealfall kann dieser dann weitsichtige Strategien zur Planung von Projekten, zur Priorisierung von Aufgaben und zum effektiven Selbst-Management vermitteln, die im Arbeitsalltag nützlich sind.