Visit by Science Minister Theresia Bauer

25. October 2018

Tübingen - On Thursday 26th October, Baden-Württemberg's Science Minister Theresia Bauer visited us at the Institute. Media representatives from the region were also invited. The reason for the event was to present the Cyber Valley Initiative - one of the largest research cooperations in Europe in the field of artificial intelligence - to the press.

There were lectures on machine learning, human-computer interfaces and of course a tour through our Capture Hall, where the 4D body scanner can be seen, as well as the robotics laboratory, where robot Apollo was waiting for the group.

'Cyber Valley has really taken off,' said the minister. 'This network has potential for groundbreaking innovations'. Ten new research groups are starting their work in Stuttgart and Tübingen, and more than ten new professorships in the field of AI are currently being established at the two locations. Cyber Valley attracts top scientists from top universities all over the world. The Cyber Valley buildings in Stuttgart and Tübingen are well advanced in their planning.

'In the Cyber Valley, science and industry are working together to create an ecosystem for the best AI research,' said Professor Bernhard Schölkopf, Director of the Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems in Tübingen. 'The starting point is a leading scientific position in machine learning, the means to attract talents from all over the world, the purpose to research the technology, to found the companies of tomorrow and to shape our future responsibly'.

'The interaction of industry, research, and politics makes the regional cluster a global hotspot for top researchers,' said Dr. Christoph Peylo, head of the Bosch Center for Artificial Intelligence, who was also present. 'Machine learning and artificial intelligence are key competencies for shaping the networked world'.

All Cyber Valley partners - the Max Planck Society, the universities of Stuttgart and Tübingen, several foundations, business partners and the state - are investing a total of 165 million euros in the location as a first step towards establishing an internationally competitive AI hotspot. The aim is not only to attract more top scientists and young talents from all over the world, but also to invite other companies to settle here. 'Cyber Valley will advance our business enterprises in digital change and train highly qualified young professionals for business, science and society,' Bauer stressed.

Wissenschaftsministerin zu besuch1
Wissenschaftsministerin zu besuch2
Wissenschaftsministerin zu besuch3

Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer zu Besuch

25. Oktober 2018

Tübingen - Am Donnerstag war Baden-Württembergs Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer bei uns am Institut zu Besuch. Eingeladen waren auch Medienvertreter aus der Region. Anlass der Veranstaltung war, der Presse die Cyber Valley Initiative vorzustellen - eine der größten Forschungskooperationen Europas auf dem Gebiet der Künstlichen Intelligenz.

Es gab Vorträge zu Maschinellem Lernen, zu Mensch-Computer-Schnittstellen und natürlich durfte nicht fehlen: ein Rundgang durch unsere Capture Hall, wo es den 4D Bodyscanner zu besichtigen gibt, sowie das Robotik-Labor, wo Roboter Apollo auf die Gruppe wartete.

'Cyber Valley hat richtig Fahrt aufgenommen', sagte die Ministerin. 'Dieses Netzwerk hat Potential für wegweisende Sprunginnovationen.' Zehn neue Forschungsgruppen nehmen in Stuttgart und Tübingen ihre Arbeit auf, über zehn neue Professuren im Bereich KI werden gerade an den beiden Standorten eingerichtet. Cyber Valley zieht Spitzenwissenschaftler von den Top-Universitäten der ganzen Welt an. Die in Stuttgart und Tübingen entstehenden Cyber Valley-Gebäude sind in der Planung weit vorangeschritten.

'Im Cyber Valley schaffen Wissenschaft und Industrie gemeinsam ein Ökosystem für die beste KI-Forschung', sagte Professor Bernhard Schölkopf, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Intelligente Systeme in Tübingen. 'Ausgangspunkt ist eine wissenschaftliche Spitzenstellung im maschinellen Lernen, Mittel das Anlocken von Talenten aus aller Welt, Zweck die Erforschung der Technologie, Gründung der Firmen von morgen und verantwortliche Gestaltung unserer Zukunft.'

'Das Zusammenspiel von Industrie, Forschung und Politik macht das regionale Cluster zum weltweiten Hotspot für Spitzenforscher', sagte Dr. Christoph Peylo, Leiter des Bosch Center for Artificial Intelligence, der ebenfalls dabei war. 'Maschinelles Lernen und künstliche Intelligenz sind Schlüsselkompetenzen, um die vernetzte Welt zu gestalten.'

Insgesamt investieren alle Cyber Valley Partner – die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, die Universitäten Stuttgart und Tübingen, mehrere Stiftungen, die Wirtschafts- partner und das Land – in einem ersten Schritt 165 Mio. Euro in den Standort, um einen international konkurrenzfähigen KI-Hotspot aufzubauen. Dieser soll nicht nur weitere Spitzenwissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler und junge Talente aus aller Welt anziehen, sondern auch weitere Unternehmen dazu einladen, sich hier anzusiedeln. 'Cyber Valley wird unsere Wirtschaftsunternehmen im digitalen Wandel voranbringen und dringend gesuchte hochqualifizierte Nachwuchskräfte für Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft ausbilden', betonte Bauer.

Wissenschaftsministerin zu besuch1
Wissenschaftsministerin zu besuch2
Wissenschaftsministerin zu besuch3