Research Groups

Thumb ticker sm img 1833 2  1
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Research focus: understanding, optimizing and predicting relations between the microscopic and macroscopic properties of complex large-scale interacting systems. I like to approach research by addressing application-oriented problems involving domain experts from different disciplines via developing models and algorithms derived from statistical physics principles.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Projects

  • Relaxing restrictive interdependence assumptions in networks

Thumb ticker sm cropped imprs facylty aja
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Research focus: neuromechanics of locomotion, biorobotics, experimental validation with physical models, soft robotics, integrative systems biomechanics, systems biophysics, and biomaterials.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Projects

  • Soft-sensing interfaces with multifunctional smart materials

Thumb ticker sm falk lieder 2018 medium cropped
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Research focus: revolutionizing self-improvement and personal development, psychotherapy and psychiatry, brain training, and education by establishing a new science of improving the human mind and developing innovative approaches and technologies for empowering people to become more effective. Research thus focuses on understanding, promoting, and supporting cognitive growth, goal setting, and goal achievement.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Projects

  • A scalable machine leaning approach to improving human decision making
  • ACTrain: A personalised companion for enhancing executive functions based on adaptive meta-cognitive feedback

Thumb ticker sm mijungpark copy
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Research focus: Developing algorithms to protect privacy when large data sets come to statistical conclusions on their own. Her goal is to solve challenging statistical problems in the field of machine learning and data protection.

 

Thumb ticker sm 20140325 mpi is stgt fischer portr 004 small
University of Stuttgart

Research focus: Developing new devices and microsystems for biomedical applications. The aim is to integrate actuation, recording, and calculation to advance medical procedures. Qiu is interested in developing tools that collect large amounts of data and learn from the data to understand the underlying principles. One research focus is to create realistic surgical robot testing and simulation environment based on rapid prototyping and augmented reality.

The Biomedical Systems research group receives funding from the Vector Foundation.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Projects

  • The Cyber-Physical Twin of Human Organs

Thumb ticker sm gabriele schweikert
University of Tübingen

Research focus: Using machine learning methods to better understand important molecular processes in living cells, with a particular interest in epigenetic processes – e.g. what makes a liver cell or what blood cell what it if all cells in the body have the same genetic code? By working on the development of machine learning techniques for computer-aided gene identification, Schweikert wants to further advance the field of computational epigenomics, which shows great promise for medical applications.

The Computational Epigenomics research group receives funding from the Gips-Schüle Foundation.

Thumb ticker sm fabian sinz
University of Göttingen

Research focus: developing intelligent systems that are as versatile as mammalian brains in terms of learning and performance. To this end, his group uses large amounts of neurophysiological and anatomical data to better understand the basics of neuronal intelligence and to reduce the gap between AI research and neuroscience. 

The Neuronal Intelligence research group receives funding from the Carl Zeiss Foundation.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Projects

  • Mechanisms of representation transfer

Thumb ticker sm 9368 cut
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Research focus: Developing autonomous intelligent systems that can learn and improve their perception and action skills through interaction with the environment. One main focus is learning-based approaches to image and sensor data analysis. Stückler develops methods with which robots can actively gain an understanding of their dynamic environment from sensor data and use it for complex tasks such as object handling or autonomous navigation. In addition to image data, he also uses other sensors such as tactile sensors for the artificial sense of touch when grasping or inertial sensors comparable to the human sense of balance.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Projects

  • Learning of physics-based models for visio-tactile object perception and manipulation
  • Self-supervised learning of mobility affordances for vision-based navigation

Thumb ticker sm 2018 ac r7b9314 cut
RWTH Aachen University

Research focus: decision making, control, and learning for autonomous intelligent systems. Developing fundamental methods and algorithms that enable robots and other intelligent systems to interact with their environment through feedback, learn autonomously from data, and interconnect with each other to form collaborative networks. Turning mathematical and theoretical insight into enhanced autonomy and performance of real-world physical systems is an important and driving facet of the Intelligent Control Systems group’s work.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Projects

  • MachineData: Machine

Forschungsgruppen

Thumb ticker sm img 1833 2  1
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Verständnis, Optimierung und Vorhersage von Zusammenhängen zwischen den mikroskopischen und makroskopischen Eigenschaften großer, komplexer interagierender Systeme. Die Gruppe nähert sich der Forschung, indem sie anwendungsorientierte Probleme mit Fachexperten aus verschiedenen Disziplinen angeht. Sie entwickelt Modelle und Algorithmen, die auf statistischen physikalischen Prinzipien basieren.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Forschungsprojekte

  • Relaxing restrictive interdependence assumptions in networks -

Thumb ticker sm cropped imprs facylty aja
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Forschungsschwerpunkte: Neuromechanik der Fortbewegung, Biorobotik, experimentelle Validierung mit physikalischen Modellen, Softrobotik, integrative Systembiomechanik, Systembiophysik und Biomaterialien.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Forschungsprojekte

  • Soft-sensing interfaces with multifunctional smart materials

Thumb ticker sm falk lieder 2018 medium cropped
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Forschungsschwerpunkte: Revolutionierung von Selbstverwirklichung und persönlicher Entwicklung, Psychotherapie und Psychiatrie, Gehirntraining und Bildung durch die Etablierung einer neuen Wissenschaft zur Verbesserung des menschlichen Geistes und zur Entwicklung innovativer Ansätze und Technologien, die Menschen dazu befähigen effektiver zu werden. Die Forschung konzentriert sich daher auf das Verständnis, die Förderung und die Unterstützung von Lernen, Zielsetzung und Zielerreichung.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Forschungsprojekte

  • A scalable machine learning approach to improving human decision making
  • ACTrain: A personalised companion for enhancing executive functions based on adaptive meta-cognitive feedback

Thumb ticker sm mijungpark copy
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Entwicklung von Algorithmen zum Schutz der Privatsphäre, wenn große Datensätze selbst zu statistischen Schlussfolgerungen kommen. Ziel der Gruppe ist es, anspruchsvolle statistische Probleme im Bereich Machine Learning und Datenschutz zu lösen.

Thumb ticker sm 20140325 mpi is stgt fischer portr 004 small
University of Stuttgart

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Entwicklung neuer Geräte und Mikrosysteme für biomedizinische Anwendungen. Ziel ist es, die Betätigung, Erfassung und Berechnung zu integrieren, um medizinische Verfahren voranzutreiben. Qiu ist daran interessiert, Werkzeuge zu entwickeln, die große Datenmengen sammeln und aus den Daten lernen, um die zugrunde liegenden Prinzipien zu verstehen. Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Schaffung einer realistischen Test- und Simulationsumgebung für chirurgische Roboter, die auf Rapid Prototyping und Augmented Reality basiert.

Gefördert von der Vector Stiftung.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Forschungsprojekte

  • Der cyber-physikalische Zwilling menschlicher Organe

Thumb ticker sm gabriele schweikert
University of Tübingen

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Mit maschinellen Lernmethoden wichtige molekulare Prozesse in lebenden Zellen besser verstehen, mit einem besonderen Interesse an epigenetischen Prozessen - z.B. was macht eine Leberzelle aus oder welche Blutzelle, was sie aus, wenn alle Zellen im Körper den gleichen genetischen Code haben? Mit der Entwicklung von maschinellen Lerntechniken für die computergestützte Genidentifikation will Schweikert den Bereich der computergestützten Epigenomik, der für medizinische Anwendungen vielversprechend ist, weiter voranbringen.

Gefördert von der Gips-Schüle Stiftung.

Thumb ticker sm fabian sinz
University of Göttingen

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Entwicklung intelligenter Systeme, die in Bezug auf Lernen und Leistung so vielseitig sind wie das Gehirn von Säugetieren. Zu diesem Zweck verwendet die Gruppe große Mengen neurophysiologischer und anatomischer Daten, um die Grundlagen der neuronalen Intelligenz besser zu verstehen und die Kluft zwischen KI-Forschung und Neurowissenschaften zu verringern.

Gefördert von der Carl-Zeiss Stiftung.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Forschungsprojekte

  • Mechanisms of representation transfer

Thumb ticker sm 9368 cut
Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Entwicklung autonomer intelligenter Systeme, die ihre Wahrnehmungs- und Handlungskompetenz durch Interaktion mit der Umwelt erlernen und verbessern können. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf lernbasierten Ansätzen zur Bild- und Sensordatenanalyse. Stückler entwickelt Verfahren, mit denen Roboter aus Sensordaten ihre dynamische Umgebung aktiv verstehen und für komplexe Aufgaben wie Objektbehandlung oder autonome Navigation nutzen können. Neben den Bilddaten verwendet er auch andere Sensoren wie taktile Sensoren für den künstlichen Tastsinn beim Greifen oder Trägheitssensoren, die mit dem menschlichen Gleichgewichtssinn vergleichbar sind.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Forschungsprojekte

  • Learning of physics-based models for visio-tactile object perception and manipulation
  • Self-supervised learning of mobility affordances for vision-based navigation

Thumb ticker sm 2018 ac r7b9314 cut
RWTH Aachen University

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Entscheidungsfindung, Steuerung und Lernen für autonome intelligente Systeme. Entwicklung grundlegender Methoden und Algorithmen, die es Robotern und anderen intelligenten Systemen ermöglichen, durch Feedback mit ihrer Umgebung zu interagieren, autonom von Daten zu lernen und sich zu kollaborativen Netzwerken zu verbinden. Die Umsetzung mathematischer und theoretischer Erkenntnisse in eine verbesserte Autonomie und Leistung realer physikalischer Systeme ist eine wichtige und treibende Komponente der Arbeit der Gruppe Intelligent Control Systems.

Cyber Valley Research Fund Forschungsprojekte

  • MachineData: Machine