Public engagement

AI and society: Exploring possible futures

Thumb ticker sm 20220504 beiter rebecca 01 heller
Public Engagement Manager
Thumb ticker sm 20220420 kluegel patrick 02
Public Engagement Manager
Thumb square ticker md cv project badge cs 20220127

Cyber Storys

Cyber Storys is an AI short story competition for students from grade 7 onwards from Baden-Württemberg. The competition is open to all types of schools. With their ideas and visions, the students provide new impulses for future AI research. The competition begins on April 4, and the submission deadline is June 14, 2022. Cyber Valley will award the prizes at the Stuttgart Science Festival in the summer of 2022. The ideas from the stories will then be fed back to AI researchers. In this way, the visions of young citizens help shape the AI of the future.
To the Cyber Storys Website

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge 20220202

AI Makerspace

The AI Makerspace is a joint project of the University of Tübingen, Cyber Valley, the Tübingen Youth Community Council and the Bundeswettbewerb Künstliche Intelligenz (BWKI) of the Tübingen AI Center, funded by the Vector Foundation Stuttgart. The open space in Tübingen’s city center is equipped with laptops, 3D printer, cutting plotter, laser cutter, podcast studio and other work spaces. The focus is on artificial intelligence (AI). Students and young adults can learn programming here, realize their own ideas with or without AI, and receive help with hobby projects. There are also events and discussion rounds with AI researchers. The goal is to promote AI competence among young people.

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge ki s 20210804

AI office hours

Once a month, you have the opportunity to meet Cyber Valley researchers and ask your questions about artificial intelligence (AI) at our AI Office Hours. Scientists from various disciplines will provide insights into their research and potential areas of application. The AI office hours are a good way to get first-hand information in a comprehensible way. You don't need to have any prior knowledge about AI. Simply sign up and participate!

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge jir 20210804

AI and journalism: Journalist-in-residence program

During a three- to six-month residency, a science journalist will focus on how AI applications can be used meaningfully for good journalism. The selected journalist is free to choose their topic and question. The pilot program in 2021 featured Christina Elmer, deputy head of development at the weekly news magazine “Der Spiegel”. Currently, Julia Merlot (“Der Spiegel”) is the Cyber Valley journalist-in-residence. The next call for applications will be released in October 2022.

Christina Elmer presented her work and research question on June 24, 2021 at a public lecture. You can watch the entire event here https://youtu.be/yIOEkwaQdUA. On May 9th, 2022 Julia Merlot talked about her research project: https://youtu.be/pAOMG2n48Kg

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge dd 20210804

“Direktdurchwahl”: Straight-talk about AI. The Cyber Valley podcast

This new podcast is all about straight-talk: people from the Stuttgart-Tübingen region are invited to say what they think of AI and confront Cyber Valley researchers with their perspectives. Then, interview guests from the scientific community talk about real challenges in AI research rather than presenting unrealistic visions of the future. What can AI do? What are currently the greatest opportunities and risks in research and development?

If you have a topic suggestion or would like to be interviewed, please send us an email: public.engagement@cyber-valley.de!

“Direktdurchwahl” is available on cyber-valley.de/podcast, as well as on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Deezer, Amazon Music/Audible, Google Podcasts, and YouTube.

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge unterwegs 20210804

Cyber Valley on the road

What is artificial intelligence (AI) and what is it exactly that scientists from Stuttgart and Tübingen are researching? How can society participate? And who makes the rules for the use of AI? We address questions like these in our free and bookable workshop and lecture program Cyber Valley on the road for interested citizen groups from the Stuttgart-Tübingen region. Invite our public engagement managers! 
To our workshop program

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge pen 20211117

Public engagement newsletter

Would you like to be kept up to date on our public engagement activities? Here you can sign up for our newsletter. Only available in German.
To the registration form

Thumb ticker md newsletter titelbild la%cc%88ngs  1

Public Engagement Newsletter

September 2022
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md thumb ticker xxl 14 izew portrait 19.03.19 2950

„Border protection must not take precedence over human ri...

Ethical thoughts on the use of AI in migration
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md youtube bild

New podcast episode: Does AI help refugees?

Intelligent systems in migration
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md pe news 1

Public Engagement Newsletter – July 2022

Events, topics and activities about AI and public engagement
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md martin rubin

When the border policeman is an AI

Interview on automated border management systems and the use of AI in migration
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md design assets fu%cc%88r timon  7

The dialog about AI

Feature about public engagement manager Rebecca Beiter
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md sidays22 event 2

Science & Innovation Days 2022

Knowledge creates the future
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md direktdurchwahl 08 verstehen kinder ki

New podcast episode: Do children understand AI?

Interview with Makerspace coordinator Gregor Schulte
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md gregorschulte

“Children can critically reflect on AI”

Interview with Gregor Schulte, Makerspace coordinator
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md newsletter titelbild la%cc%88ngs  1

Public Engagement Newsletter – May 2022

Events, topics and activities about AI and public engagement
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md newsletter titelbild la%cc%88ngs  1

Public Engagement Newsletter – April 2022

Important events, topics and activities about AI and public engagement
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md 20220404 dsf8462 x

Welcome, Julia Merlot!

Science journalist is new journalist-in-residence
Arrow left

Public Engagement

KI und Gesellschaft: Zukunftsszenarien gemeinsam erkunden

Thumb ticker sm 20220504 beiter rebecca 01 heller
Public Engagement Manager
Thumb ticker sm 20220420 kluegel patrick 02
Public Engagement Manager
Thumb square ticker md cv project badge cs 20220127

Cyber Storys

Cyber Storys ist ein KI-Kurzgeschichtenwettbewerb für Schüler:innen ab Klasse 7 aus Baden-Württemberg. Der Wettbewerb ist offen für alle Schularten. Mit ihren Ideen und Visionen liefern die Schüler.innen neue Impulse für die zukünftige KI-Forschung. Der Wettbewerb beginnt am 4. April 2022, die verlängerte Einreichungsfrist ist der 14. Juni 2022. Die Preise verleiht Cyber Valley am Stuttgarter Wissenschaftsfestival im Sommer 2022. Die Ideen aus den Geschichten werden dann an KI-Forschende zurückgespiegelt. So gestalten die Visionen junger Bürger:innen die KI der Zukunft mit.
Zur Wettbewerbsseite

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge 20220202

KI-Makerspace

Der KI-Makerspace ist ein von der Vector Stiftung Stuttgart gefördertes Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Universität Tübingen, Cyber Valley, des Jugendgemeinderats Tübingen sowie des Bundeswettbewerbs Künstliche Intelligenz (BWKI) des Tübingen AI Centers. Der offene Raum in Tübingens Stadtzentrum ist ausgestattet mit Laptops, 3D-Drucker, Schneideplotter, Lasercutter, Podcast-Studio und weiteren Werkräumen. Der Fokus liegt auf dem Thema künstliche Intelligenz (KI). Schüler:innen und junge Erwachsene können hier Programmieren lernen, eigene Ideen mit oder ohne KI realisieren und erhalten Hilfe bei Hobbyprojekten. Außerdem gibt es Events und Diskussionsrunden mit KI-Forschenden. Ziel ist die Förderung von KI-Kompetenz unter Jugendlichen.

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge ki s 20210804

KI-Sprechstunde – Alles, was Sie über intelligente Systeme wissen wollen

Einmal im Monat haben Sie die Möglichkeit, in unserer Sprechstunde Cyber Valley Forschende kennenzulernen und Ihre Fragen zu stellen. Hier erklären die Forschenden aus verschiedenen Disziplinen, was künstliche Intelligenz und intelligente Systeme eigentlich kennzeichnet und zeigen, woran sie forschen. Die Sprechstunde ist also eine gute Möglichkeit, sich allgemeinverständlich aus erster Hand zu informieren. Sie müssen kein Vorwissen über KI mitbringen. Einfach vorbeikommen und fragen!  

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge jir 20210804

Journalist-in-Residence-Programm: KI und Journalismus

In einem drei- bis sechsmonatigen Aufenthalt beschäftigt sich ein:e für dieses Programm freigestellte:r Wissenschaftsjournalist:in damit, wie KI-Anwendungen sinnvoll für guten Journalismus genutzt werden können. Die ausgewählte Journalistin bzw. der ausgewählte Journalist bestimmt Thema und Fragestellung selbst und unabhängig. Den Auftakt für das Pilotprogramm machte im Jahr 2021 Christina Elmer, zuvor stellvertretende Entwicklungschefin des Nachrichtenmagazins „Der Spiegel“. Aktuell ist die Wissenschaftsjournalistin Julia Merlot („Der Spiegel“) Journalist-in-Residence. Die nächste Ausschreibung startet im Oktober 2022.

Christina Elmer hat ihre Arbeit am 24. Juni in einem öffentlichen Vortrag vorgestellt. Hier können Sie den Vortrag in voller Länge sehen: https://youtu.be/yIOEkwaQdUA. Am 9. Mai 2022 präsentierte Julia Merlot ihr Forschungsprojekt: https://youtu.be/pAOMG2n48Kg

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge dd 20210804

Direktdurchwahl: Reden wir über KI. Der Cyber Valley Podcast

Wir schaffen Klarheit, woran KI-Wissenschaftler:innen forschen. Im Podcast stellen Rebecca Beiter und Patrick Klügel vor, was KI (noch) nicht kann oder vor welchen Herausforderungen Forschung und Entwicklung steht. Unsere Gäste sprechen nicht über unrealistische Zukunftsvisionen, sondern über die tatsächlichen Fragen, die sich bei ihrer Forschung stellen. Am wichtigsten aber ist: In unserem Podcast kommt die Gesellschaft zu Wort. Wir fragen Menschen aus der Region nach ihrer Perspektive auf das komplexe Thema KI. 
Haben Sie einen Themenvorschlag? Möchten Sie interviewt werden? Melden Sie sich per E-Mail an public.engagement@cyber-valley.de!

Direktdurchwahl ist unter cyber-valley.de/podcast und auch auf Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Deezer, Amazon Music/Audible, Google Podcasts sowie YouTube verfügbar.

 

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge unterwegs 20210804

Cyber Valley unterwegs

Was ist künstliche Intelligenz (KI) und woran forschen die Wissenschaftler:innen aus Stuttgart und Tübingen? Wie kann sich die Gesellschaft an dieser Entwicklung beteiligen? Und wer macht die Regeln für den Einsatz von KI? Mit Fragen wie diesen beschäftigen wir uns in unserem kostenfreien, buchbaren Workshop- und Vortragsangebot Cyber Valley unterwegs für interessierte Bürger:innengruppen aus der Region Stuttgart/Tübingen. Laden Sie unsere Public-Engagement-Manager ein!
Zu Cyber Valley unterwegs

Thumb square ticker md cv project badge pen 20211117

Public Engagement Newsletter

Möchten Sie per E-Mail über unsere Public-Engagement-Aktivitäten auf dem Laufenden gehalten werden? Hier können Sie sich für unseren Newsletter anmelden. Nur auf Deutsch verfügbar.

Zur Anmeldung

Thumb ticker md pe newsletter v2

Public Engagement Newsletter – November 2022

Welche Themen wünschen Sie sich für 2023?
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md bildschirmfoto 2022 10 28 um 11.21.11

Deutschlands erster Kodex für Public Engagement

Prinzipien für einen besseren Dialog zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md bildschirmfoto 2022 10 28 um 11.38.10

Was ist KI, was kann sie, und was soll sie können?

Künstliche Intelligenz einfach erklärt
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md thumb ticker xxl 20220404 dsf8462 x

Ein realistischeres Bild der Möglichkeiten von KI

Julia Merlot über ihren Aufenthalt als Cyber Valley Journalist-in-Residence
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md jury und teilnehmer bwki 2022

BWKI zeichnet Schüler:innen-Teams aus

Deutschlands KI-Nachwuchs begeisterte beim Finale in Tübingen
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md newsletter titelbild la%cc%88ngs  1

Public Engagement Newsletter

September 2022
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md thumb ticker xxl 14 izew portrait 19.03.19 2950

„Der Grenzschutz darf nicht über Menschenrechten stehen“

Ethische Gedanken zum KI-Einsatz in der Migration
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md youtube bild

Neue Podcast-Episode: Hilft KI Geflüchteten?

Intelligente Systeme in der Migration
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md pe news 1

Public Engagement Newsletter – Juli 2022

Veranstaltungen, Themen und Aktivitäten rund um KI und Public Engagement
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md martin rubin

Wenn der Grenzpolizist eine KI ist

Interview über automatisierte Grenzschutzsysteme und dem KI-Einsatz in der Migration
Arrow left
Thumb ticker md design assets fu%cc%88r timon  7

Im Dialog über KI

Public-Engagement-Managerin Rebecca Beiter im Porträt
Arrow left

Erfahren Sie mehr über uns